Saturday, February 21, 2015

Energy Balancing and the Chakras

There are 7 main energy centers in the body, known as chakras. The definition of chakra is any of several points of physical or spiritual energy in the human body according to yoga philosophy. Each chakra has a certain location, color and correlation to specific body parts, mental thoughts and emotional moods. When the energy center, or chakra, is blocked or weak physical or emotional dysfunction can occur. When we release the blocked energy it can undo tightness, stiffness, or malfunction in the body or the mind. There are different ways of releasing the energy and since being a chiropractor is all about releasing stuck energy in the spine, joints and muscles of the body it was only a matter of time before I started to release blocked chakra energy in my patients as well.

I muscle test (applied kinesiology) the chakras and after finding out which ones go weak and then prioritizing which one needs the most healing I then have the patient wear the appropriate colored sunglasses that correspond to the weak chakra for at least 60 seconds. Wearing the different colored sunglasses puts that specific color or wavelength into the brain and that helps reset the blocked chakra to allow energy to flow again. If you are interested in buying a pair, they are $30 at

After developing the glasses I wanted to incorporate exercise and movement into opening up and stimulating the chakras so we developed Chakra Class. In this exercise class you will go through a sequence of movement to help open up and stimulate all the chakras. After getting a good workout you will leave the class feeling light and rejuvenated as well!

We also now have the Chakra Light Therapy at the office where you lay under 7 quartz crystals that have cold laser lights going through them to open and energize each of your chakras.

1st Chakra also known as Root Chakra (red)

Sits at the base of your spine, at your tailbone.

Physical imbalances in the root chakra include problems in the legs, feet, rectum, tailbone, immune system, male reproductive parts and prostrate gland. Those with imbalances here are also likely to experience issues of degenerative arthritis, knee pain, sciatica, eating disorders, and constipation.

Emotional imbalances include feelings affecting our basic survival needs: money, shelter and food; ability to provide for life’s necessities.

When this chakra is balanced, you feel supported, a sense of connection and safety to the physical world, and grounded.

The lesson of this chakra is self-preservation; we have a right to be here.

2nd or Sacral Chakra (orange)

Located two inches below your belly button.

Physical imbalances include sexual and reproductive issues, urinary problems, kidney dysfunctions, hip, pelvic and low back pain.

Emotional imbalances include our commitment to relationships. Our ability to express our emotions. Our ability to have fun, play based on desires, creativity, pleasure, sexuality. Fears of impotence, betrayal, addictions.

When this chakra is balanced, we have an ability to take risks, be creative. We are committed. We are passionate, sexual and outgoing.

The lesson of this chakra is to honor others.

3rd or Solar Plexus Chakra (yellow)

Located three inches above your belly button.

Physical imbalances include digestive problems, liver dysfunction, chronic fatigue, high blood pressure, diabetes, stomach ulcers, pancreas and gallbladder issues, colon diseases.

Emotional imbalances include issues of personal power and self-esteem, our inner critic comes out. Fears of rejection, criticism, physical appearances.

When this chakra is balanced, we feel self-respect and self-compassion. We feel in control, assertive, confident.

The lesson of this chakra is self-acceptance.

4th or Heart Chakra (green)

Located at the heart.

Physical imbalances include asthma, heart disease, lung disease, issues with breasts, lymphatic systems, upper back and shoulder problems, arm and wrist pain.

Emotional imbalances include issues of the heart; over-loving to the point of suffocation, jealousy, abandonment, anger, bitterness. Fear of loneliness.

When this chakra is balanced we feel joy, gratitude, love and compassion, forgiveness flows freely, trust is gained.

The lesson of this chakra is love.

5th or Throat Chakra (blue)

Located at the throat.

Physical imbalances include thyroid issues, sore throats, laryngitis, TMJ, ear infections, ulcers, any facial problems (chin, cheek, lips, tongue problems) neck and shoulder pain.

Emotional imbalances include issues of self-expression through communication, both spoken or written. Fear of no power or choice. No willpower or being out of control.

When this chakra is balanced, we have free flowing of words, expression, communication. We are honest and truthful yet firm. We are good listeners.

The lesson of this chakra is to speak up and let your voice be heard.

6th or Third Eye Chakra (purple)

Located in the middle of the eyebrows, in the center of the forehead.

Physical imbalances include headaches, blurred vision, sinus issues, eyestrain, seizures, hearing loss, hormone function.

Emotional imbalances include issues with moodiness, volatility, and self-reflection; An inability to look at ones own fears, and to learn from others. Day-dream often and live in a world with exaggerated imagination.

When this chakra is balanced we feel clear, focused, and can determine between truth and illusion. We are open to receiving wisdom and insight.

The lesson of this chakra is to see the big picture.

7th or Crown Chakra (white)

Located at the top of the head.

Physical imbalance include depression, inability to learn, sensitivity to light, sound, environment.

Emotional imbalances include issues with self-knowledge and greater power. Imbalances arise from rigid thoughts on religion and spirituality, constant confusion, carry prejudices, “analysis paralysis.” Fear of alienation.

When this chakra is balanced, we live in the present moment. We have an unshakeable trust in our inner guidance.

The lesson of this chakra is live mindfully.

No comments:

Post a Comment